Credits: Pinterest

I’m on a train. I started traveling by train three days ago. At first, out of curiosity. Now though, it’s somehow peaceful. I get to watch movies without getting motion sickness because it’s slow and soothing. It swings slowly as it goes, and dad says “inakubembeleza na kukupoesha tu kama uji moto”. Love that. I’m listening to Deborah Lukaku, cause I identify and associate with greatness and she is exactly that. 

In this exact time and space, my heart is lighter than in the morning. I’ve watched a cloud move along with me, somehow like an angel keeping an eye on me. On the train, we sit facing each other. The guy opposite to me is reading a book, “The Richest Man in Babylon”. He is smiling at his book, either because the unique smell of the pages is activating his serotonin receptors; there is just something about the smell of pre-loved pages; or he is enjoying his read, can’t tell. He is enjoying and that’s all that matters. The train is a good distraction. It reminds me there is a whole world outside me. I get to talk to strangers. Yesterday I got to talk to the guard, a decent human being and I hope the best for him. 

I listened to a sermon by Priscilah Shirer in the morning. She talked about how our life-changing moments sometimes lie in the most mundane things. She referred to the story of Saul. Saul was sent to look for donkeys, punda zilipotea bana, and he didn’t know at the same moment God had sent Samuel to inform him he will be a king. He left home as a son doing errands and came back as a king. See, greatness is not always achieved by doing great things, but sometimes it’s in the chores we despise; sipendi vyombo mimi, shoot me in the leg instead; In the small interactions we think are not important. That may just be your breakthrough. The word did something in me, and I hope it does to you too. 

I am almost getting to my stop. And as I alight, I am content. 

26 thoughts on “THE TRAIN

Leave a comment